William Beith, a prominent Kane County stone mason, built his elegant Greek revival style home on the banks of the Fox River in St. Charles in 1850. Today it stands as one of the few examples of river stone architecture in this area that has not been significantly altered.
The Beith House was rescued from years of neglect in 1980 and carefully restored to operate as a Preservation Study House, illustrating both interior and exterior restoration techniques, as well show-casing the decorative arts of the mid-19th century. Exhibits and tours are designed for visitors of all ages; the outdoor Archeology Box, the gallery of local architecture, and many “old house mysteries” are just a few of the museum’s educational attractions.
Today the handsome limestone building serves as the headquarters for Preservation Partners, with multiple permanent and revolving exhibits available to the public on the first floor.
Summer Hours: Tuesdays and (NEW) Thursdays / June 1 – August 31 / 1-4pm – $2 Donation per family is appreciated
Hands on History! Hands-on curriculum based tours 2nd-5th grades.
Availability: April through November by appointment.
Fee: $2 per student
Customized to your group’s interest: architecture, decorative arts, restoration techniques.
Availability: By appointment throughout the year.
Fee: $3 per person